Cybulski family – part 2

This post is a continuation of Momma’s handwritten story about her mother’s life in Poland.  You will probably find this part of the story somewhat dry since it concerns the process of growing and harvesting flax but since it was the next section of Momma’s story, I did not want to omit it.

I have been working really hard on scanning and “fixing” all the old photographs coming my way.  Thanks to both Cindy and Kris for loaning me their stuff!!  I think everyone is going to be surprised with what is yet to come.   Just to pique your interest, here is a picture of Momma taken in the late 1930s.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    May 24, 2011 @ 21:47:44

    GREAT job on the picture of Grandma! You’re going to pass Dad’s “Photoshopping” skill level soon… 🙂

    Reply

  2. Terry
    May 25, 2011 @ 06:38:07

    Good grief! Now we know where we get the “urge to do needle work” from! I certainly WISH I could have seen some of this! I can understand why our mother was so picky when it came to how clothes were made (whether we were making them or buying them). I would guess that the smell Bachie couldn’t stand must have been something like the smell of a paper mill….. NASTY! Thanks, Andie… another great piece of our history!

    Reply

    • criminger
      May 25, 2011 @ 08:09:14

      It struck me that way too. Weaving has always drawn me more than needlework. I now understand why Momma would appear with Daddy at some of my craft shows where I was weaving. I also taught myself drop spinning since I could stand and spin while talking to customers at craft shows.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

